“Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested; that is, some books are to be read only in parts; others to be read, but not curiously; and some few are to be read wholly, and with diligence and attention.”  —Francis Bacon

Like most people, I love to read but rarely make the time for it. I buy books with every intention of reading them and then they sit on my bookshelf. For 2021, I updated my nighttime routine to include reading instead of the monotonous phone scrolling I tend to do before bed. Which means, I need books!!!

Last weekend I asked for book suggestions on my Instagram stories. SO MANY of y’all answered and a lot asked I also share the results. Instead of sharing them all, I have picked out the 20 most recommended. Click on the photo or the title to order the book!

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo | “This moving story is a perfect understanding of the sacrifices we make for love and for our dreams.”—Real Simple

I started this book on Monday. I figured I would start it and still be reading it when I got around to blogging. Ha. I finished the book on Thursday. Four days. I couldn’t put it down and honestly, will think about this book for the rest of my life. It is so raw and real in all the right ways.

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens | “Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl…Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

This is another book I have also read and HIGHLY suggest… Another book I read in less than a week.

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell | “Jewell gets more riveting and twisty with every book she writes. Completely absorbing, fast-paced, well-written and with a shocking ending that will keep readers guessing, Then She Was Gone is a nearly pitch-perfect thriller. Fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware are sure to adore this haunting novel.” ― Shelf Awareness

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah | “No one writes more insightfully about women’s friendships with all of their messy wonder, humor, pain and complexity like Kristin Hannah. She’s a marvel.” ―Susan Elizabeth Phillips, author of Natural Born Charmer

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood | “This book destroyed me. I have never read anything like it. I came to the end of the novel with my mind-reeling, my emotions scattered, and completely unsure exactly what I did feel about it…but one thing is certain: I felt. Oh hell, I felt. I don’t think I’ll ever get these characters off my mind.” ―Emily May, #1 Worldwide most popular reviewer, Goodreads

Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey | “A delightful surprise, full of stories that [haven’t] been shared on late night talk shows or made headlines over the years. It’s a wild ride to be sure, but if you enjoy McConaughey and all of the eccentricities and contradictions that come with him, it’s one you won’t want to miss.”Texas Monthly

I feel like I should turn my Texas card in for what I am about to say, but I am not the biggest McConaughey fan… So the chances of me reading this one is slim, but if you are a fan of him or memoirs, go for it! Lots of people seemed to love this one.

Beach Read by Emily Henry | “This is a touching and heartfelt book about love, betrayal, grief, failure, and learning how to love again. I adored going along on Gus and January’s journey, and I closed this book with a satisfied sigh.”—Jasmine Guillory, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Proposal

The Secrets we Keep by Kate Hewitt | “Emotional, suspenseful, truthful…these all describe this gut wrenching story of two very different women and the summer they share… I couldn’t put it down! The suspense built higher and higher feeling almost like a Hitchcock movie.” —Goodreads reviewer

I am Watching You by Teresa Driscoll | “Perhaps one of the best psychological thrillers released this year…” —India Today

This one has some SERIOUS mixed reviews. It seems people either LOVE it or HATE it. I think it is worth a read for me to see where I fall.

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett | “The Dutch House is the story of a paradise lost, a tour de force that digs deeply into questions of inheritance, love and forgiveness, of how we want to see ourselves and of who we really are.” —New York Times

Named one of the Best Books of the Year by NPR, the Washington Post;O: The Oprah Magazine,Real SimpleGood Housekeeping, Vogue,Refinery29, and Buzzfeed

Educated by Tara Westover | “[Educated] left me speechless with wonder. [Westover’s] lyrical prose is mesmerizing, as is her personal story, growing up in a family in which girls were supposed to aspire only to become wives—and in which coveting an education was considered sinful. Her journey will surprise and inspire men and women alike.”Refinery29

I had SO many people recommend the second book in this series by Abby Jimenez. I figured I would list them all out! I cannot wait to read these!

Book 1: The Friend Zone | “Jimenez’s dazzling debut is a brilliantly written romantic comedy that seamlessly toggles back and forth between scenes of laugh-out-loud, snarky wit and serious emotional issueswithout missing a beat, all the while delivering maximum reading satisfaction.”―Booklist, Starred Review

Book 2: The Happy Ever After Playlist | Readers will enjoy this enchanting and unabashed romantic fantasy, complete with the perfect playlist.”―BookPage

…and yes, it comes with a playlist for you to listen to as you read! *swoon*

Book 3: Life’s too Short | “Heartfelt and swoony… Jimenez masterfully blends heavy issues and humor, lacing the tear-jerking heartache with sass and sarcasm. Series fans and newcomers alike will be moved by this emotional rom-com.”―Publishers Weekly

The third and final book of this series is only for pre-order right now. It is set to be released April 6, 2021. Perfect timing for me to catch up on the others.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover | “It Ends with Us isn’t an ordinary love story. It will break your heart while filling you with hope, and by the end of this gripping, pulse-pounding novel, you’ll be smiling through your tears.” ―Sarah Pekkanen, International bestselling author of Perfect Neighbors

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris | ” Unsettling but gripping novel, based on the true story of Lale, a Slovakian Jew caught up in the horrors of the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp during WW2.” ―Goodreads reviewer

This one also has mixed reviews; another love or hate, few in-between.

So This is Love by Elizabeth Lim | What if Cinderella never tried on that glass slipper…. “A Twisted Tale is an anthology series of books based around alternate “what-if” spins on familiar animated Disney films. They are written by Liz Braswell, Jen Calonita and Elizabeth Lim. There are currently 10 books, with the 11th coming April 2021 and the 12th coming September 2021.” Disney Fandom

I just recently read about this series in my D23 magazine in December! I couldn’t believe this was a book series about twisted Disney tales that I had never heard of!! As a Disney fan, I CANNOT wait to read these!

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate | “This story is heartfelt and genuine, especially as Wingate explores the idea of home and family from a youngster’s point of view.”Historical Novels Review

The One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London | “One to Watch is a fundamentally entertaining and uplifting book. . . . A powerful imagining of how reality TV could look . . . Stayman-London dismantles stubborn and destructive ideas about plus-size women: Namely, that they can’t be fashionable, popular, or successful. [Bea is] complex in a way that fictional plus-size characters often aren’t. . . . As the title makes clear, One to Watch is a book to watch.”O: The Oprah Magazine

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig | “An absorbing but comfortable read…a vision of limitless possibility, of new roads taken, of new lives lived, of a whole different world available to us somehow, somewhere, might be exactly what’s wanted in these troubled and troubling times.” —The New York Times

This is my book I have next on deck to read!! I will keep you updated on my thoughts of it… and I will try not to finish it in 4 days. I’m gonna need a lot more books if I keep this pace up. Oh, speaking of books… If you remember last week’s post, I FINISHED BRIDGERTON! If you are like me, binged it and now feel like you need more… HELLO Bridgerton Book Series! Here is the second book.

Have you read any of these books? What are some you suggest? Let me know!! Cheers my fellow book lovers!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram
Pinterest
Pinterest
fb-share-icon
Follow by Email
RSS